If People Didn’t Sometimes Think He Was Gay, He’d Be Doing It Wrong

Photo: Out Magazine

We all know Adam Levine is a fox. Just look at this junk-free but decidedly nsfw picture. Or watch the “Misery” video. I’m not normally into dudes getting their asses whooped by hot chicks… but I don’t know… it’s working for me.

And if there’s one thing that hardbodied rock stars who look kind of like Jess from Gilmore Girls can do to exponentially up the lust factor, it’s pose for a gay magazine. You’ve found my weakness, Mr. Levine, and it wasn’t that insane “V” muscle (okay, it was only 90% muscle.)

The pictures are enough that you should “read” the Out Magazine article, but the profile isn’t half bad either.

“There’s no way to hide my straightness,” he says, “but if people didn’t think there was a small chance I was gay, then I wouldn’t be doing my job very well. Look at the best ones, guys whose sexuality was always questioned. Bowie. Jagger. Freddie Mercury. I wouldn’t be the front man of a band if that question hadn’t come up at some point.”

And, in discussing his gay brother, there’s this: “A lot of people don’t want their kid to be gay and will fight it at all costs. But I’ve got news for you—it’s a losing fucking battle. The more you fight it, the more fucked-up your kid’s gonna be. You’ve just gotta embrace it from the beginning.”

It lands real close to what I was aiming for with the GMP piece Monday about parental expectations and pressure around their children’s sexual orientation. As an adult, you might know that your kid is in for some unnecessary roughness from a discriminating world, and that sucks. But what sucks more is for your kid to mistake that frustration with the unfairness of the world for frustration with the way that they are.

P.S. He makes a really great point about The Voice vs. American Idol when it comes to letting contestants be out with their orientation. File that under one more reason not to watch Idol.

Related Post: More sexy men with sexy opinions.

Related Post: Joakim Noah says he’s an “open minded guy.” Then where does the hate speech come in?

7 Comments

Filed under Art, Gender, Hollywood, Media, Really Good Writing by Other People

7 responses to “If People Didn’t Sometimes Think He Was Gay, He’d Be Doing It Wrong

  1. Pingback: If People Didn't Sometimes Think He Was Gay, He'd Be Doing It Wrong (via rosiesaysblog) | Brinaslim's Blog

  2. Well, since I do get hit on weekly by the occasional gay guy, I’m pretty I’m doing whatever I’m doing correctly. Yeah, I wear the v neck shirt. The one that says hanes and stretches across the sternum but not too far that it becomes hipster attire and not an ordinary undershirt. Adam is absolutely correct here.

  3. I love him more and I’m not even into white guys.

  4. I read the article — loved it, but cried over the fact that he is indeed not gay.

  5. Pingback: Guest Post: “I Will Never Really Have to Come Out” | rosiesaysblog

  6. Pingback: Happy Friday. You’re Welcome. | rosiesaysblog

  7. Pingback: Duet | rosiesaysblog

Leave a Reply

