Elizabeth Warren in Two Minutes

Reasons I want to move back to Massachusetts:

1. It’d be nice to see my family more often.

2. I want to vote for Elizabeth Warren for Senate.

She’s currently on her talking tour around the state raising dough and name recognition in her bid to take on Scott Brown. Hot damn, this is going to be an interesting race. Brown is popular, and the part of Massachusetts between Boston and and Smith College isn’t as bright blue as the state’s voting record would suggest.

I can’t wait for debate season, just watch this clip. Girlface is on fire (just wait for the :52 mark):

It’s also a really great counter argument to the pull-yourself-up-by-your-bootstraps mentality that folks opposing social services and public works tend to project. It goes like this, “I didn’t need help, I made my own money, why should I pay for you lazy jerks?” Warren points out the foundational structures that support everybody’s business, no matter how brilliant and entrepreneurial.

“You built a factory out there? Good for you. But I want to be clear: you moved your goods to market on the roads the rest of us paid for; you hired workers the rest of us paid to educate; you were safe in your factory because of police forces and fire forces that the rest of us paid for.

My favorite line (and everybody else’s): “There is nobody in this country who got rich on his own. Nobody.”

Absentee ballot? Hmmmmmm….

Related Post: Another viral youtube clip, Zach Wahls on gay marriage.

Related Post: Sheryl Sandberg says “Lean in.”

6 Comments

Filed under Media, Politics

6 responses to “Elizabeth Warren in Two Minutes

  1. I kinda wish I could zip down and vote for her too. Every time Snowe does something I like, she follows up with 2-3 stupid things. Collins is a lost cause.

  2. Pingback: How I Wish the Warren/Brown Showdown Had Occurred | rosiesaysblog

  3. Pingback: Google Searches Speak Volumes | rosiesaysblog

  4. Pingback: Can we get some historical context please? | rosiesaysblog

  5. Pingback: Video Wednesday | rosiesaysblog

  6. Pingback: Pelosi Rolls Deep | rosiesaysblog

Leave a Reply

